Sixteen92 Shower Gel, Lotion and Perfume!

Standard

P1010607

When I heard that Sixteen92 had a toasted marshmallow scent, I jumped right on the order train!  I had briefly looked at their scents before but only Cloven really jumped out at me so I hadn’t made an order.  My lipstick obsession has slowly made way for a bath product obsession and my fascination with perfume hasn’t gone away either!  My purchase was made September 28 and I received a shipping notification on October 8th.  It made it’s way up into Canada and arrived on the 15th of October. It came well packaged in a bubble mailer with extra bubble wrap for padding and snazzy little cardboard buffer cases for the perfume!  There were also some cute little Halloween toys in the mix!

P1010608

The goods!

I ordered Shower Gel and Hand & Body Lotion, both in Toasted Marshmallow Scent, and a 5ml of Cloven.  She generously included 3 extras! My extras were Black Sugar, Raven, and a winter preview of Mexican Hot Chocolate! Claire was amazing when I contacted her and she had great customer services.  More on that in the body lotion review!

P1010609

The Samples!

Since the samples were unexpected and super generous (3 for an order of 3 things!) I’ll review them first.

Black Sugar

Shop description: A dark counterpart to Aquolina’s Pink Sugar. Spun brown sugar, red berries, vanilla and tonka bean absolute dance with a sprinkle of dirt, a swirl of cauldron smoke, and a drop of bittersweet cocao absolute.  

In the vial it smells sweet and creamy; definitely getting the sugar, vanilla and tonka bean.  The dirt, berries, smoke and cocao are absent but maybe they’ll come out after it’s been applied? On the skin the berry comes out a little bit, adding an indistinct fruity scent that melds nicely with the sugar, vanilla and tonk a bean.  The vanilla backed off a bit and the tonka bean comes to the front a little more.  The cocao comes into the mix, dancing around with the berries and adding a light powder-iness to the scent.  This isn’t the baby powder scent that lots of perfumes turn into, it’s the scent you get when you open a container of cocoa when making puffed wheat squares; light and slightly chocolate with a bitter edge.  This balances the sweetness a little bit, stopping it from becoming sickly sweet.

The dirt comes out a little bit after about an hour but it isn’t a strong dirt scent.  This is like a sweet child smelling of vanilla, sugar and tonka bean went out and made you a mud pie.  After plunking their creation in front of you they smell of sweetness and the earth clinging to their hands.  This scent grounds the scent without being dirty; I would actually describe this as earth and not dirt.  It isn’t the distinct dirty scent I think of when I hear of a dirt note being included, it is a light warm scent.

The smoke never entered the picture for me but I really liked this scent anyways.  This is not one I would have thought to pick up but boy am I glad I got to try it! I love this and will be picking up a full size.  This lasted a whopping 8 hours on me and was still there faintly at about 10 hours (not enough to notice unless you were looking for it).  The silage was good for the first 2 hours and then moved closer to the skin.

Raven

Shop description: Spiced apple, tea leaves, tobacco, guaiac wood

In the vial this smells sweet although not distinctly apple with a slight nip from the tea leaves but the tobacco and wood are absent.  Once applied it almost goes floral although there are no floral notes in this perfume.  This lasts for about 30 minutes before the apple comes through with a little bit of the spice.  The perfume becomes sweet, slightly apple-y, with some warm spices around the edge.  The tea leaves balance the sweetness so that it doesn’t become overwhelming.  The tobacco sneaks in there around the 1 hour mark adding its distinct scent to the mix.

After about 1.5 hours the wood drops into the mix and takes out the other scents.  Bodies are strewn across the floor as guaiac wood stands in the middle surveying the scene.  The apple slowly crawls into the upright position, standing behind the wood but too scared to take it out and choosing instead to just hover around the edges.

This scent lasts about 5 hours but stays very close to the skin.  I had very limited silage with this one and had to put my nose right to my pulse point to pick it up.  This is a halloween scent so if you are interested you might want to pick it up before it sells out for the season!

Winter Preview

Description: Hot chocolate bar, Mexican hot chocolate.

In the vial it doesn’t smell like anything special; it’s just a typical chocolate note.  Once applied though, oh yum! Once I put this on I realized just how lovely this chocolate note is; it is incredibly creamy without going sour or being too sweet.  It is mellow and smells exactly like opening a milk chocolate bar.  After about an hour there is a hint of spice at the edge of the scent but nothing too strong.  I like how subtle the spice is as my skin seems to amp spice up and in this perfume they don’t overwhelm the chocolate.  This is a perfect, light chocolate scent.  Sometimes simple is better and for this perfume, it works wonderfully!

Sillage is awesome on this one.  I sat down in the living room and my roommate commented that this one was a good one from across the room.  She has started to make a list of everything she likes that I have tried! I also personally noticed the silage on this one (was snuggling with the Mr. and said he smelt nice then realized it was me!).  This floated around me for a good 3-4 hours before moving closer to the skin.  All in all this lasted for about 6-8 hours and is on my list to buy in a full size!

Cloven

P1010610

 

Website Description: A sweet trio of vanilla, fossilized amber resin and balsam prowl beneath a fiery mix of cardamom, cinnamon* and clove, finished with a dash of blue chamomile, damascus rose and neroli.

In the vial this is spicy and warm with just a hint of vanilla.  Once applied the vanilla shoves those spices aside so that it can get to the front of the line; my skin amps up vanilla so even as a base note it becomes fairly strong.  The spices don’t like this so much, especially cinnamon and clove who try to push vanilla back for the next 30 minutes.  Cardamom is there but he mostly just watches, waiting for his chance to jump in front of all three of them.  While the spices and vanilla scuffle at the front, the amber and balsam try to sneak around the other side, making it past the chamomile, rose and neroli but not quite past the cardamom whose sharp eyes catch them as they reach him.  They hover together, watching the scuffle that is continuing in front of them.  The chamomile, role and neroli don’t really like confrontation and prefer to stay away from trouble.  Everyonce in a while one of them steps up as if to get the attention of a teacher but they quickly shy away, almost before anyone notices them.

After about an hour, vanilla, cinnamon and clove are tuckered out and cardamom takes the opportunity to step forward.  The amber and balsam lack the confidence to follow but they stick close to the front, mingling with vanilla, cinnamon and clove.  Cardamon doesn’t overpower the other scents and the perfume works well together.  It is sweet and light yet warm and spicy.  My nose doesn’t pick up much of the neroli, rose or chamomile but everyonce in a while the scents try to come through.

This was a pretty masculine spicy scent with just enough sweetness to balance it out.  This will be slathered on the Mr. and he will then be enjoyed throughout the day (by smelling nice!).  This scent had okay silage floating around for about the first 2 hours before moving closer to my skin.  It lasted 4 hours before my skin gobbled it up!

Toasted Marshmallow Shower Gel

P1010614

Super cute little cauldron bangle on the shower gel!

P1010611

 

The scent in the bottle is divine and I couldn’t wait to shower in it.  This smells like sweet gooey marshmallows that have been lightly toasted over a fire.  To me, this smells like a toasted marshmallow tastes!

The formula is very much like Aveeno’s body wash; a light gel without being gelatinous.  In the shower this lathered beautifully (I used a shower pouf) and felt lovely on my skin.  The scent dissipated a bit once it was being used but was still there, just faint.  Once rinsed off, this left a light clean and slightly sweet (like a marshmallow) scent and my skin didn’t feel tight or dry.  This definitely replaces any of the commercial shower gels in my stash!

Toasted Marshmallow Hand and Body Lotion

P1010615 P1010617I emailed Claire about the lotion because when I opened it the seal was broken and there were little blue bits in the lotion and around the seal.  She responded immediately stating that it looked like the seal hadn’t taken and that the little blue bits were glue (it turns blue when activated) but that it was safe to use.  She offered to send me a replacement but as I am international I would feel bad having her pay the shipping for one item, especially when I plan on making an order in the near future! She assured me that it wouldn’t be a problem but said to let me know when I make my next order.

This lotion is light and goes on very smoothly.  It absorbed very fast and leaves skin feeling soft and supple without being greasy.  The scent is just like the shower gel, the smell of a toasted marshmallow.  When I applied it I noticed a sharp lotion-y scent underneath but it may have just been me as neither my roommate or boyfriend noticed it.  Again, my roommate piped up from the other side of the living room to comment on how yummy I smelt; she really has become my thermometer of silage and yummy scents.

Summary

I really liked everything I received and was pleasantly surprised that Black Sugar was so yummy.  I didn’t dislike anything and have a couple things on my to buy list!  Claire was great and replied quickly to my message leaving me feel happy with the resolution.  This is a shop to try and I hope to see it become popular.  If you want to try some of her lovely creations, you can find her shop here. Now go try stuff and decide for yourself!

 

Leave a Reply

