Shiro Lippies!

Standard

I’m baaaaacccckkkk! Featured today is my entire collection of lip stuffs from Shiro.  We’ve got some glosses, some intertubes, and some of the lip tints!

P1000867My swatches are done to achieve moderate opacity while still, in my opinion, being wearable.  I find that many swatches, especially those that are found on shop websites, are done with a bit heavier of a hand than I would use.  It is my hope that my swatches will help those who also prefer lip colour to be a little less in your face while still being bold.

Lip Tints:

P1000868

L-R: With Eyes Unclouded, A Girl and a Cat, It’s Called Love, and Who Swallowed a Star

I love a good lip tint; something with good colour pay off but that moisturizes the lips.  If you’re going to use a lip balm, why not add a pop of colour at the same time?

P1000869

Bare Lips for Reference

With Eyes Unclouded

P1000870

With Eyes Unclouded: one swipe on top and bottom.

This is described as a “sheer brick red with a slight brown undertones” on the website and I think the description is bang on.  This is a nice browny red that you could match to an old brick building.  It reminds me of the brick masonry of my elementary school! This goes on smooth and I find that the colour lasts 1-2 hours depending on what you are doing, and it is quite moisturizing.

A Girl and a Cat

P1000871

A Girl and a Cat: one swipe on top and bottom.

This purply red is described on the website as “deep purple in the tube, applies as a medium-sheer berry”.  I find the description to be a bit ambiguous as berry could mean any number of colours.  Is it the bright red of a strawberry? The deep red purple of a raspberry? Or the deep purple of a blueberry?

In my opinion this is the colour of the juice left at the bottom of the bowl after you have enjoyed a piece of shortcake topped with a berry medley.  You know the medley you can buy in the frozen food isle? It has blueberries, blackberries, raspberries and strawberries and when they defrost they drip with a mixture of juices. That’s this colour!

This balm also lasts 1-2 hours depending on what you are doing, and did a good job keeping my lips soft and smooth.

It’s Called Love

P1000874

It’s Called Love: one swipe on top and bottom.

This was a balm I was really excited to try as it is supposed to be a match for Why Not Zoidberg (which I bought an extra of when intertubes were available because I loved the colour so much!). It is described online as “a summery medium coral, a match for our former Why Not Zoidberg colour”.  This is a great summer colour as it is a medium toned coral with just the right amour of orange while still being pretty pink. This lasts about 1-2 hours depending on how much work your mouth is doing (eating is the death of these lip tints) and leaves your lips feeling soft and smooth.

P1000872

Why Not Zoidberg on the left and It’s Called Love on the right.

I compared It’s Called Love and it’s colour match Why Not Zoidberg side by side just to see how close the colours really are.  It’s Called Love appears on the right in the photo and it does seem to be a bit deeper but this may be because it is a sheer balm and lip pigmentation will affect the colour.  I find that on my lips Why Not Zoidberg is a little bit pinker than It’s Called Love although they are very close! I love both colours and when my tubes of Why Not Zoidberg eventually bite the dust, it is nice to know that there is an almost exact colour match available.

Who Swallowed a Star

P1000875

Who Swallowed a Star: one swipe on top and bottom.

Shiro’s website describes this colour as a “bright coral-orange in the tube, applies a bit pinker than you might expect”. The description speaks the truth as this colour is much more pink on the lips that in the tube. On the lips this isn’t very coral at all and I do not get any orange. It is a medium pink that is just a bit bolder than a natural lip colour. This does stain the lips a little bit so the colour lasts for about 3-4 hours even though the balm usually wears off in 1-2 hours.

Intertubes

P1000876

Smashing and Shoop Da Whoop

I picked up 2 other intertubes before they disappeared and swatched them for your viewing delight.  My other inter tube swatches can be found here.

Smashing

P1000878

Smashing: One swipe on top and bottom.

This was described on the website as “pinky-purpley-smashingness” and it is a pretty accurate description.  I don’t normally do purple and to be honest I can’t even remember why I decided that buying this one was a good idea. I think I just added it to the cart with the thought that if I didn’t like it then someone else could have it.  Boy do I wish I had bought a back up! This one was the surprise winner of the bunch and although I really didn’t expect to like it so much, I fell in love as soon as it was on my lips.

The colour is a lovely purple pink colour and provides smooth coverage.  I didn’t get any of the grittiness that was an issue with the older formulation and the colour lasted through dinner and drinks (!!!) for a total of 3 hours.  It would probably last longer if I hadn’t put it to the test with drinks and yummy food.  This colour can also be applied lighter than it appears in the swatch but I find that it loses the purple tone when it is applied too lightly and it becomes more pink on my lips, losing it’s purple magical-ness.

Shoop Da Whoop

P1000882

Shoop Da Whoop: one swipe on top and bottom.

This was described as a “bright hot red” and it is definitely a bright hot colour! I find this to be a slightly orange tinted red that applies very bright, even when using a light hand.  If you want a statement colour, this is right up your alley.  I don’t normally do colours this bright but I have received compliments on this colour when I have worn it out so apparently this colour likes me! The colour lasted about 3 hours and was not drying.  It also faded evenly and didn’t leave a ring of colour around the lips. It has great colour pay off and I am loving the new formula.

Glosses

I have heard rave reviews of Shiro’s gloss formula but hadn’t actually tried any of them so when I made my last order I added a sample of Nic Cage Nibbling Petit Fours in a Posh Victorian Tearoom to my cart.  I was also lucky enough to receive a full sized Red In My Ledger gloss in a lot of makeup I purchased from an awesome user on /r/indiemakeupandmore (a fantastic subreddit).

P1000883

Red In My Ledger

P1000885This is described online as “blackened mulberry, a slightly darker take on our old Team Buffy colour, flavored with deep fruity black walnut”.  First off, the swatch online is incredibly accurate! The colour is almost dead on in real life.  For me it was a little more red but this could be due to the lighting.  It is a really deep colour that is great for a dramatic look or an evening outing.

As for the flavour, I didn’t really find that it tasted like much but I found it to smell very strongly of liquorice.  At first the scent is a bit overwhelming but after a little while it dissipates (or I just got used to it).

The formula is very smooth but I found it a little difficult to achieve even coverage with this colour.  It is a bit sticky but this gloss really lasts though! I clings to your lips and stays on there longer than it seems possible for a gloss.  This even lasted through a shower…yeah. Pretty crazy. This lasted on my lips for 4 hours! This is unheard of for any gloss I have tried.

Nic Cage Nibbling Petit Fours in a Posh Victorian Tearoom

P1000886

Online this colour is described as a “moderately opaque dusty rose with a gentle pearl finish, flavoured with fancy pink frosting”.  The colour description is pretty close and I love the pink frosting flavour! The gloss smells strongly of sugar and cake but the scent isn’t overwhelming.  To be honest, I would love a perfume that smells like this!

I applied this colour with a lighter hand and as such, the colour is lighter than the swatch online.  If you are looking to achieve the deep colour that is depicted online, it does build up to that depth but I found that when it achieved that deep red colour, it was also very thick and sticky on the lips.

Summary

All in all, I love Shiro.  They are known for their great products and they haven’t disappointed me yet! Fingers crossed the intertubes make another appearance in the shop in the future but until then, I will enjoy my glosses and lip tints!

They just released a new Detrivore collection and some new blush colours so head over there to check them out!

All reviews and statements are my honest personal opinions. I have purchased all the products I have written about unless otherwise explicitly stated. 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Shiro Lippies!

Leave a Reply

