Missha Dong Baek Gold Shampoo

Standard

IMG_2838_2

The next sample to review as I work my way through the pile of samples on my desk, is the Missha Dong Baek Gold Shampoo.  To start, I have thick, coarse blonde hair that has the misfortune of being on the head of a person that goes into a pool at least twice a week.  I’m sorry hair, you know I do what I can for you!  I’m always willing to try new shampoos and conditioner in order to try and help my poor fried hair as best I can.

IMG_2839_3So it has some nice packaging and it is a decent sized sample.  The amount you get is pretty generous and 2 samples got me through 4 washes.  Pretty good for the amount of hair I’ve got! There was a major downside and that was the smell.  This stuff is strong.  In the time it took to empty the samples into a jar, I had a roaring headache and had to open the window in order to air out the room.  I am sensitive to scents but this stuff punches you in the face with flowers.  It was so strong!  The smell does disappear pretty well when you actually use it but it does make me nauseous just to put it in my palm.

It does a really good job at grabbing all the dirt and oil in your hair and pulling it out without drying the hair but it can be difficult to tell if you have managed to distribute it to all areas of your scalp as it does not really lather.  Lathering ingredients are added to lots of shampoo because we like them, not because they actually do anything.  The amount of lather you get does not indicate the effectiveness of a shampoo but it sure helps you tell if you’ve missed a spot!  This may be a thick hair person problem but I really like lather so I know I’ve gotten all the grime.

Since it didn’t lather much, I worked it through much like you would a conditioner and then massaged the scalp to work it in deeper.  This worked pretty well and it rinsed exceptionally fast! I was left with light, soft and clean hair.

IMG_2972IMG_2971

I don’t know if you can tell from the pictures but the first one is before use and the second is after.  My hair feels softer and lighter.

Summary

All in all, it’s a nice shampoo.  It cleaned my hair without drying it out and left it light and soft, even without conditioner.  I can’t get past the smell of it though so this is a no buy for me.  If it came in an unscented version then I may consider buying one but as far as shampoo goes, there are tons out there.  This one is nice, if you happen to be able to get a sample then grab one but otherwise it’s just that, nice.  It didn’t rock my world, but it was nice while it lasted.

(All reviews and statements are my honest opinions, and all products are purchased by me unless otherwise explicitly stated.)

 

Leave a Reply

